1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » 69th match, MI vs DC: Mumbai Indians won by 5 wickets
69th match, MI vs DC: Mumbai Indians won by 5 wickets

     The Mumbai Indians (MI) ended their TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 season with a 5-wicket win over the Delhi Capitals (DC) at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Saturday. In the first innings, Jasprit Burmah's 3-wicket haul reduced DC to 159-7 before Ishan Kishan's measured 48 and Tim David's crucial cameo put MI over the line. MI were 15/0 in the first two overs of their chase for 160 when Ishan Kishan started his bat with two fours and a six. After allowing only 2 runs in his first two overs, Khaleel Ahmed put pressure on the other end.

     After Nortje dismissed Rohit Sharma, MI were 27/1 at the end of the powerplay, DC's pressure was eventually rewarded. Following a calm couple of overs, Dewald Brevis, who joined Kishan at the crease, played a release shot for six. After Kishan and Brevis each hit a six, Kuldeep Yadav's second over yielded 18 runs. MI lost Kishan's wicket as the left-handed batter was caught at long-on, breaking the fifty-run partnership. Tilak Varma then joined Brevis, who was handed a reprieve in the 12th over, with MI needing 68 runs off 36 deliveries.

     After Brevis pulled Shardul Thakur's delivery onto the stumps, MI lost their third wicket. Tim David hit his first six of the game, cutting MI's lead to 59 off 30. With a 17-run over, Tilak Varma and Tim David seized the momentum back for MI, who needed 29 runs off the final three overs. Before the powerful MI batter was caught within the circle, Tim David hit successive sixes. Tilak Varma was bowled in the penultimate over, but Ramandeep Singh guided MI to victory as they chased down the mark with 5 balls to spare.

     Earlier, DC, who were given the opportunity to bat first, made one change: Prithvi Shaw replaced Lalit Yadav in the eleven, while MI named Dewald Brevis and Hrithik Shokeen in their lineup. DC got off to a good start with to David Warner and Prithvi Shaw. Shaw took the first six wickets, but it didn't take long for the MI pacers to make an impact after DC lost David Warner and Mitchell Marsh in short succession, with Dan Sams and Jasprit Bumrah each taking one wicket. Bumrah then took the crucial wicket of Shaw, who was caught behind in the penultimate over of the powerplay, leaving DC at 37/3 after six overs.

     Sarfaraz Khan was caught behind off Mayank Markande's bowling, and DC lost their fourth wicket within the first ten overs. DC trailed 55-4 at halftime but captain Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell brought the team back. Powell hit two sixes and a four in the 12th over, allowing 20 runs to be scored. With five overs to go, DC were 106/4, thanks to a critical fifty partnership for the fifth wicket. Ramandeep Singh's eventful over yielded 19 runs, but the pacer took Pant's wicket when the DC captain was caught behind.

     Burmah maintained his outstanding bowling form, dismissing Powell with a yorker to end an exciting knock. In the first innings, Ramandeep took his second wicket in the last over, but a six from Axar Patel helped DC to 159/7.

Scores: Mumbai Indians 160/5 (Ishan Kishan 48, Dewald Brevis 37; Shardul Thakur 2-32) beat Delhi Capitals 159/7 (Rovman Powell 43, Rishabh Pant 39; Jasprit Bumrah 3-25) by 5 wickets.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!