1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » IPL 2022: MATCH 19 & 20 RESULTS
IPL 2022: MATCH 19 & 20 RESULTS

Match 19: Delhi Capitals won by 44 runs 

     The Delhi Capitals (DC) won by 44 runs over Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Thanks to offensive fifties at the top from Prithvi Shaw and David Warner, the Delhi Capitals established a massive total of 215-5, before Kuldeep Yadav's brilliant 4-wicket haul delivered a resounding victory for DC. With a target of 216 to chase, the KKR openers got off to a rough start after Rahane was dismissed twice in the first over. In the second over, Venkatesh Iyer smashed two sixes against Shardul Thakur.

     Inside the powerplay, however, the KKR openers were back in the hut. Khaleel Ahmed took two wickets after Venkatesh was caught by Axar Patel and Rahane was caught by Shardul Thakur in a brilliant running catch. KKR were 43-2 after six overs, with skipper Shreyas Iyer and Nitish Rana facing a difficult task. After hitting three sixes between them, Rana and Iyer built a rapid fifty-run partnership. KKR were 91-2 at the halfway point and needed 125 from 60 deliveries. After Rana was caught by Shaw at long-on, Lalit Yadav put an end to the partnership. With consecutive sixes, skipper Iyer achieved his half-century, but was stumped in the next over as Kuldeep Yadav grabbed his first wicket.

     As KKR needing 85 runs off 36 pitches, new batter Sam Billings started his inning with a four and a six. After Billings was dismissed in the 15th over, Khaleel Ahmed took his third wicket of the innings. Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets in the 16th over, dismissing Cummins, Narine, and Umesh Yadav, including a brilliant running catch off his own bowling. KKR were 8 down and needed to score 57 runs in the last two overs. Earlier, DC made one change to their lineup, with Khaleel Ahmed replacing Anrich Nortje in the eleven.

     DC raced to 34/0 in the first three overs when Prithvi Shaw started the innings with three fours. In the fourth over, the right-handed batter smacked the first six runs of the innings. As the fifty partnership was up for the first wicket, David Warner hopped on the bandwagon with three fours and a six. After six overs, DC had a comfortable lead of 68/0. Shaw got his second successive half-century of the season off just 27 deliveries as the DC openers struck at more than 10 per over.

     After Chakaravarthy's delivery smashed into the stumps, KKR finally got their first wicket, ending Shaw's innings of 51 off just 29 deliveries. DC's scoring rate was unaffected by the breakthrough, as skipper Rishabh Pant started his innings with two fours and a six. As runs continued to flow freely from DC batters, Chakaravarthy's 11th over yielded 24 runs. Pant hit Cummins for six straight down the ground, but the DC captain was caught in the deep by Umesh Yadav. Warner, on the other side, scored six runs to get his first fifty of the season. With four overs to play, KKR took two fast wickets after Narine dismissed Lalit Yadav and Rovman Powell, reducing DC to 162/4.

     Warner's 61-ball innings came to an end when he was caught at deep midwicket by Umesh Yadav. As DC smashed 23 runs in the penultimate over, Shardul Thakur and Axar Patel supplied the ideal end to the innings. Thakur slammed two maximums, while Axar and his partner each hit a four and a six. DC recorded 215/5 in the first innings, with Thakur finishing with a six on the final delivery.

Scores: Delhi Capitals 215-5 (David Warner 61, Prithvi Shaw 51; Sunil Narine 2-21) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 171 all out (Shreyas Iyer 54, Nitish Rana 30; Kuldeep Yadav 4-35) by 44 runs.

Match 20: Rajasthan Royals won by 3 runs

     The Rajasthan Royals (RR) moved to the top of the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 table after defeating the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by 3 runs at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday. Rajasthan Royals reached a challenging total of 165-6 thanks to Shimron Hetmyer's brilliant 59*(36), before Yuzvendra Chahal starred with a four-wicket haul as RR successfully defended the goal in the last over. Lucknow Super Giants lost the wickets of skipper KL Rahul and Krishnappa Gowtham while chasing a difficult mark of 166, as Rajasthan Royals had a fantastic start with the ball.

     On the first delivery of the innings, Trent Boult uprooted KL Rahul's stumps and trapped Gowtham LBW in the same over. After Jason Holder was caught at mid-on, Prasidh Krishna took the third wicket for RR, and LSG were 31-3 at the end of the powerplay. In the seventh over, LSG opener Quinton de Kock smashed the first six runs of the innings, and he was joined at the crease by Deepak Hooda. Hooda blasted three fours to relieve some of the pressure, but he was bowled out in the 10th over by Kuldeep Sen, who took his first IPL wicket.

     The second hitter to be dismissed was Ayush Badoni, who was caught in the deep by Parag Chahal, giving Chahal his maiden wicket of the innings. LSG were 7 down when the leg-spinner struck twice in his third over, dismissing de Kock and Krunal Pandya. After Chameera was trapped LBW in the 18th over, Chahal got his 150th IPL wicket. LSG needed 34 runs from the final two overs, and Marcus Stoinis single-handedly changed the game's outcome by hammering 19 runs in the penultimate over against Prasidh Krishna, including one four and two sixes.

     Kuldeep Sen, who was making his debut, was tasked with defending 15 runs off the final over, which he did admirably, as LSG fell 4 runs short of the mark. Rajasthan Royals, who were given the opportunity to bat first, made two changes to their lineup: Kuldeep Sen and Rassie van der Dussen were picked in the starting eleven. RR openers Jos Buttler and Devdutt Padikkal got off to a good start, with the team scoring 27 runs in the first three overs. In the second over, Buttler smacked the first six runs of the game. At the other end, Padikkal received a reprieve after Bishnoi dropped the opener's catch off his own bowling.

     After the right-handed opener was removed, Avesh Khan grabbed Buttler's wicket on his first delivery. RR were 44-1 at the end of the powerplay, thanks to two fours from skipper Sanju Samson, who had recently joined Padikkal. In the ninth over, Jason Holder dismissed the RR captain, who was stranded LBW. After Gowtham scalped two wickets in the next over, LSG fought back impressively with the ball. Holder captured set hitter Padikkal at slips, but Rassie van der Dussen's stumps were cleaned up by the spinner.

     Ravi Ashwin and Shimron Hetmyer put together a strong fifth-wicket partnership. Before Ashwin switched gears and smashed consecutive sixes in Gowtham's over, which yielded 16 runs, Hetmyer was dropped in the 14th over. With four overs remaining in the innings, RR were 108-4, with the fifty partnership for the fifth wicket up for grabs. In the 18th over, Hetmyer smashed two sixes and a four against Holder, putting RR in a great position with two overs to go. After Ashwin declared himself retired out earlier in the over, Hetmyer reached his fifty by hitting consecutive sixes in the last over, which created 16 overs. Rajasthan Royals posted 165/5 in the first innings, Holder scalped Riyan Parag’s wickets and Hetmyer smacked two more sixes. 

Scores: Rajasthan Royals 165-6 (Shimron Hetmyer 59*, Devdutt Padikkal 29; Krishnappa Gowtham 2-30) beat Lucknow Super Giants 162-8 (Quinton de Kock 39, Marcus  Stoinis 38*; Yuzvendra Chahal 4-41) by 3 runs.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!