1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » IPL 2022: MATCH 17 & 18 RESULTS
IPL 2022: MATCH 17 & 18 RESULTS

Match 17: Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 8 wickets

     The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won their first match in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Saturday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, defeating the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 8 wickets. SRH chased down the goal of 155 with more than two overs to spare with to Abhishek Sharma's superb 75(50) top-order performance, which was ably supported by skipper Kane Williamson and Rahul Tripathi. SRH openers Kane Williamson and Abhishek Sharma started well with the bat, chasing a goal of 155. SRH only managed 37 runs in the first six overs, but the openers were still in good shape.

     With a six straight down the ground against Moeen Ali, Williamson brought up the fifty-run partnership for the first wicket. The duo added a four and a six to the total and kept the runs coming as SRH reached 69-0 at the halfway mark. Abhishek Sharma reached his half-century in the 12th over, which generated 14 runs, as he hit Jordan for four and six. SRH, on the other hand, lost a crucial wicket in the form of skipper Williamson, who was caught inside the circle.

     With a six, Rahul Tripathi got right into the action. Abhishek Sharma, on the other hand, continued to assault with his magnificent shots. As SRH needed 34 runs in the final five overs, the 15th over, bowled by Mukesh Choudhary, yielded 13 runs. As SRH blasted 19 runs off the 17th over, Tripathi smashed a six and three fours against Jordan, putting the fifty partnership up for the second wicket. CSK, who were given the opportunity to bat first, made one change in their lineup: Maheesh Theekshana replaced Dwaine Pretorius in the eleven. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Robin Uthappa, the CSK openers, started confidently, striking three boundaries in the first three overs, and CSK were 25/0 after three overs. After Uthappa was blocked by Markram, Washington Sundar gave SRH their first breakthrough.

     After Natarajan cleaned the stumps of Ruturaj, SRH took their second wicket, and CSK were 41-2 after six overs. The next two overs yielded only 10 runs, and SRH were on top with the ball. In the ninth over, Moeen Ali and Rayudu both smashed fours to relieve the burden. Before Rayudu hit consecutive fours against Jansen, CSK were 68-2 at the midway mark. As Rayudu and Ali switched gears, CSK recovered quickly. CSK were 97/2 at the end of 13 overs, having put on a fifty-run stand for the third wicket. After Rayudu was caught in the deep, Sundar called a halt to the collaboration. 

     SRH responded by taking two more wickets. As Natarajan picked up his second wicket of the innings, Moeen Ali was caught in the deep off Markram's bowling. Shivam Dube was caught by short third-man. In the 17th over, Bhuvneshwar gave only 4 runs before Jansen took his first wicket of the season, dismissing MS Dhoni at the opposite end. After Jadeja hammered a four and a six against Natarajan, the penultimate over produced 14 runs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar dismissed Jadeja in the penultimate over, but CSK finished well in the first innings with a total of 154-7.

Scores: Sunrisers Hyderabad 189-9 (Abhishek Sharma 75, Rahul Tripathi 39; Dwayne Bravo 1-29) beat Chennai Super Kings 154-7 (Moeen Ali 48, Ambati Rayudu 27; Washington Sundar 2-21) by 8 wickets.


Match 18: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 7 wickets

     The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won their third consecutive match in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Saturday at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, defeating the Mumbai Indians (MI) by 7 wickets. After the RCB bowling attack reduced MI to 151-6, Anuj Rawat's solid 66(47) at the top helped RCB chase down the goal with 9 deliveries to spare. Faf du Plessis and Anuj Rawat, the RCB openers, started cautiously in response to the MI pacers' strong start. Anuj Rawat started things off with a pair of sixes against Jaydev Unadkat. In the powerplay, RCB scored 30 runs but did not lose a wicket in the first six overs.

    In the seventh over, Rawat hit a six and a four against Murugan Ashwin, scoring 15 runs. For the first wicket, a fifty-wicket partnership was on the line. After being caught at long-on by Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat removed du Plessis for 16 runs. The new batsman in, Virat Kohli, smashed his first four runs of the innings, and RCB were 61/1 after 10 overs. Basil Thampi bowled the 12th over and gave up 15 runs. Kohli began the over with a four, and Rawat ended it with a beautiful flip for six and a four.

     Kohli was given a respite after Dewald Brevis dropped the right-handed batter in the deep with RCB needing 41 runs off the final five overs. Rawat hammered two more sixes towards the on side as the Kohli-Rawat partnership continued to blossom for RCB. MI finally got their second wicket when Anuj Rawat was run out by Ramandeep Singh with a stunning direct hit. The next batsman, Dinesh Karthik, dismissed Bumrah for six runs with RCB needing eight runs off the final two overs. Kohli was trapped LBW by Dewald Brevis, but Glenn Maxwell finished the chase in style with two fours.

     MI made two changes to their eleven after being assigned to bat first. Jaydev Unadkat and Ramandeep Singh were chosen in the eleven. Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan, the openers, opened explosively with the bat and put pressure on the RCB bowling attack right away. In the fourth over, skipper Rohit Sharma started the ball rolling with a four and the first maximum of the innings. MI were 49-0 after 6 overs when Ishan Kishan smashed consecutive fours against Hasaranga and the MI skipper ended up the powerplay with a four. In the seventh over, Harshal Patel grabbed a superb catch off his own bowling to give RCB their first wicket.

     After Dewald Brevis was held LBW for 8, Wanindu Hasaranga took RCB's second wicket. In the next over, Akash Deep dismissed Kishan, who was caught in the deep by Siraj, who took an excellent catch. Tilak Varma was run out soon after, owing to a stunning direct hit from Glenn Maxwell inside the circle. MI were 62-4 at the end of the first ten overs before losing Pollard, who was out LBW on the first ball against Hasaranga. Harshal Patel picked up his second wicket for MI, dismissing Ramandeep Singh, who was caught behind for 6 runs.

     Suryakumar Yadav took matters into his own hands and counter-attacked in the 15th over, hitting Shahbaz Ahmed for six and four. MI reached 100 runs in the 17th over before Suryakumar slog-swept Hasaranga for a six over deep midwicket. With two fours, Unadkat provided excellent support to Suryakumar with the bat. MI scored 23 runs in the penultimate over, including three beautiful sixes as Suryakumar Yadav approached fifty. As MI posted a competitive total of 151-6 in the first innings, the right-handed hitter concluded the innings in style with a maximum.

Scores: Royal Challengers Bangalore 152-3 (Anuj Rawat 66, Virat Kohli 48; Dewald Brevis 1-8) beatMumbai Indians 151-6 (Suryakumar Yadav 68*, Rohit Sharma 26; Harshal Patel 2-23) by 7 wickets.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!