1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » Brilliant 5 smart decisions taken by Rohit Sharma in the during various IPL
Brilliant 5 smart decisions taken by Rohit Sharma in the during various IPL

     Rohit Sharma made his international cricket debut in 2007. In India's World T20 2007 campaign, he was one of the main players. He has never looked back since then, enjoying success as a player and captain in the Indian Premier League (IPL). 

     Rohit has won one title as a player, with the Deccan Chargers in the 2009 season, and five titles as the captain of the Mumbai Indians. On the field, he has been successful in carrying out the plans and has made several critical judgments. His victory in the competition cleared the door for him to be named India's national team captain.


Here are 5 excellent decisions made by Rohit Sharma during IPL tournaments:

  • IPL 2017 - sacrificing the opening berth 

     To eliminate the problems offered by the opposition bowlers, the left-right combination has always been lethal. Rohit and the Mumbai Indians team management employed the same strategy in the 2017 edition. 

     Given the success of Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel as an opening duo in 2015, Rohit gave up his spot and spent the entire season at No. 4 in the order. It allowed the Mumbai Indians to stick to the same approach in the powerplay, while Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard supplied MI with some late-inning acceleration.

     With 540 runs, Lendl Simmons and the hitman tied for second place in the tournament run scoring. The move aided the club in capturing their third championship.

  • IPL 2019 – including Rahul Chahar in the XI

     Rahul Chahar, a leg-spinner, was acquired by the Mumbai Indians in 2018, although he was unable to play in any of the team's games due to strong competition, with Mayank Markande and Krunal Pandya performing admirably. But, thanks to his performances for the Rajasthan state side in domestic cricket, he was able to play his maiden match for Mumbai Indians against Chennai Super Kings in the team's fourth match of the competition. 

      Rahul's performances improved as the season continued, despite the fact that he was not an immediate success. His best stats came against Sunrisers Hyderabad, where he had 3/19 at the end of his tenure. He finished the season with 13 wickets in 13 appearances. 

     Rahul Chahar put a lot of pressure on the CSK hitters in the final, finishing with 1/14 off four overs. His pitching contributed to the Mumbai Indians' one-run victory.

  • IPL 2017 Final – endorsing Krunal Pandya up the order

     The 2017 final between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiant was a low-scoring game. The Mumbai Indians got off to a shaky start, with Jaydev Unadkat dismissing both openers, Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel, and Rayudu being run out early.

     All-rounder Krunal Pandya was elevated ahead of Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard by captain Rohit Sharma, who came in at No. 4, to rebuild the innings by forging a strong partnership to set a defensive total on the board. Mumbai only received a 129 out of a possible 100 points. Krunal, on the other hand, was the most valuable player with 47 points from 38 balls. 

     Krunal was named Player of the Match for his batting efforts after the move helped the Mumbai Indians win the match by a single run.

  • IPL 2015 – giving the ball to Kieron Pollard

     Many Mumbai Indians players, including Lendl Simmons, Parthiv Patel, and Mitchell McClenaghan, performed admirably in the 2015 IPL. However, Rohit Sharma's decision-making was crucial for the Mumbai Indians, as they achieved one of their most historic victories.

     In a must-win game against the Knight Riders, Kieron Pollard guided the squad brilliantly, putting together an unbroken 92-run partnership with Hardik Pandya to post 171 runs. With all of the major bowlers, including Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, and McClenaghan, having bowled their entire quota of overs, Rohit decided to hand the ball to Pollard, who is in good form at the moment. 

     He defended 12 runs in the final over as a result of his decision. The victory allowed the squad to remain in the competition, which they eventually won. 

  • IPL 2019 Final – preserving Lasith Malinga for the last over

     After a nail-biting end in the 2017 final, Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni were involved in another nail-biting finale in the 2019 edition, as their respective sides gave it their best to win the trophy. The Mumbai Indians did well to set a target of 149 runs, which was a respectable total given the high stakes of a final.

     The Chennai Super Kings got off to a great start and were on their way to a comfortable first-half score. The Mumbai Indians' bowlers, on the other hand, were clinical and grabbed wickets on a regular basis. Chennai needed 19 runs in 12 balls, and Jasprit Bumrah's line and lengths were excellent. 

     Fortunately, captain Rohit Sharma meticulously arranged the allocation of overs among his bowlers. CSK needed 9 runs in the crucial last over. Lasith Malinga was kept in the game to bowl it over, and he did so with a one-run victory for his team.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!