1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » IPL 2022: MATCH 54 & 55 RESULTS
IPL 2022: MATCH 54 & 55 RESULTS

 Match 54: Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 67 runs

     The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won their seventh match in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Sunday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 67 runs. In the first innings, Faf du Plessis' (73*) brilliant captain's performance powered RCB to 192-3 before Wanindu Hasaranga's excellent fifer steered the team to a resounding victory. SRH lost two wickets in the first over while chasing 193 to win. By a direct hit from Shahbaz Ahmed, Kane Williamson was run out without facing a ball. Glenn Maxwell took his first wicket by castling Abhishek Sharma.

     As SRH were 39-2 at the end of the powerplay, Aiden Markram and Rahul Tripathi counter-attacked and spearheaded the recovery. After Tripathi was given a reprieve in the eighth over, the fifty partnership was up for the third wicket. Hasaranga hit shortly after Kohli caught Markram at deep midwicket. SRH were 69/3 at the midway stage after Tripathi scored two fours. Nicholas Pooran hit two fours and a six before being caught behind by Hasaranga's bowling.

     Tripathi, on the other hand, reached his half-century with a maximum. The SRH opener was given a reprieve, but Suchith was stumped off Hasaranga's bowling, giving RCB their fifth wicket. Josh Hazlewood took two wickets in a row, including the crucial wicket of Tripathi, who was removed for 58 runs. After taking the wickets of Shashank Singh and Umran Malik in the same over, Hasaranga claimed a five-wicket haul. After Bhuvneshwar Kumar was caught at long-off by du Plessis, Harshal Patel took the final wicket of the innings.

     RCB, who chose to bat first, did not modify their lineup from the previous game. With the ball, SRH got off to a flying start after Jagadeesha Suchith dismissed Virat Kohli on the opening ball of the game. After losing an early wicket, RCB rallied impressively to reach 47-1 at the end of the powerplay. With two fours and a six each, Rajat Patidar and Faf du Plessis were off and running. The couple was up for the fifty collaboration. After du Plessis hit two fours and a six, Umran Malik's first over yielded 20 runs.

     Rajat Patidar was given a respite, and RCB led 93-1 at halftime. The hundred partnership was up for the second wicket when du Plessis achieved his half-century in the 12th over. Patidar was caught at deep mid-wicket by Suchith, who took his second wicket and ended the partnership. Glenn Maxwell, the new batter, added two fours and a six, including his signature switch-hit. With five overs remaining, RCB were 125/2. Off Bhuvneshwar Kumar's delivery, Maxwell smashed his second six right down the ground. 

     RCB needed 150 runs after du Plessis and Maxwell both smashed fours in the 18th over. Before Maxwell holed out to Kartik Tyagi's bowling, the fifty partnership was up for the third wicket. After whacking four sixes and a four in the first innings, Dinesh Karthik produced a terrific finishing touch to help RCB post 192/3.

Scores Royal Challengers Bangalore 192/3 (Faf du Plessis 73*, Rajat Patidar 33; Jagadeesha Suchith 2-30) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 125 all out (Rahul Tripathi 58, Aiden Markram 21; Wanindu Hasaranga 5-18) by 67 runs.


Match 55: Chennai Super Kings won by 91 runs

     The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) returned to winning ways in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 on Sunday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, defeating the Delhi Capitals (DC) by 91 runs. CSK reached a massive total of 208/6 thanks to a century-run opening partnership between Devon Conway (87) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (41) before Moeen Ali's 3-wicket haul reduced DC to 117. DC lost an early wicket of Srikar Bharat, who was caught at first slip after adding two fours at the top of the order. With two maximums, David Warner led the way.

     After Warner was stranded LBW in the fifth over, Maheesh Theekshana took the second wicket of the innings. Mitchell Marsh got off to a good start with a four and a six. DC was 59-2 at the end of the powerplay when skipper Rishabh Pant smacked three fours in a row as the next batter at the plate. Moeen Ali took his maiden wicket to dismiss Marsh, who was caught at long-on, ending the 36-run partnership. Rishabh Pant and Ripal Patel were both dismissed by Moeen Ali. Ripal Patel holed out to the deep while the DC skipper was castled by the off spinner.

     After Mukesh Choudhary took two wickets in the 11th over, DC were 7 down. Rovman Powell was caught behind by the left-arm bowler, who smashed Axar Patel's stumps out. Kuldeep Yadav was caught by Uthappa in the 16th over, giving Simarjeet Singh his second wicket. Shardul Thakur scored a good 24 with two fours and a six. Dwayne Bravo, on the other hand, finished the innings by removing Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed on consecutive deliveries as CSK triumphed by 91 runs.

     Earlier, CSK made one alteration to their lineup, with Shivam Dube replacing Ravindra Jadeja in the eleven. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway, the CSK openers, got off to a great start with the bat. Conway got things started with two fours after Gaikwad smashed the opening six runs of the innings. In the fifth over, Conway hit consecutive sixes, bringing the fifty-run partnership to an end. At the completion of the powerplay, CSK led 57-0. Conway's half-century came after the left-handed opener hit two sixes and a four off Kuldeep Yadav.

      Conway smashed three fours in a row against Kuldeep Yadav, and CSK were cruising at 100/0 at the halfway mark. Gaikwad mistimed a pull shot and was caught by Anrich Nortje's bowling, bringing the century partnership to an end. Conway kept attacking the DC spinners, and CSK were in command at 131/1 after 13 overs. After whacking two sixes and a four against Shardul Thakur, Shivam Dube, who joined Conway, soon raced to 32 off 18 deliveries. After Conway was caught behind off Khaleel Ahmed's bowling, DC was able to claim his wicket. After the left-handed hitter holed out to the deep, Mitchell Marsh removed Dube in the next over.

     MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, got right into the act with a six and four. Ambati Rayudu was dismissed by Khaleel Ahmed for his second wicket. In the penultimate over, Dhoni struck his second six and CSK passed 200 runs. Before CSK finished with 208/6 in the first innings, Anrich Nortje got two wickets on successive deliveries, dismissing Moeen Ali and Robin Uthappa.

Scores Chennai Super Kings 208/6 (Devon Conway 87, Ruturaj Gaikwad 41; Anrich Nortje 3-42) beat Delhi Capitals 117 all out (Mitchell Marsh 25, Shardul Thakur 24; Moeen Ali 3-13) by 91 runs.




The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!