1xBetSportsBlog » CRICKET » Day 5 - Stump, New Zealand won by 2 wickets
Day 5 - Stump, New Zealand won by 2 wickets

Match Details 

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand

Venue - Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Toss Winner - New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl first

Series - Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand, 2023

Date of the Match - Monday, 13 March, 2023

Time - 3:30 AM (IST)

Season - 2023

Umpires - Michael Gough (ENG), Chris Gaffaney (NZ)

Third Umpire - Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match Referee - Richie Richardson (WI) 

Match Review 

     On Monday, March 13, at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch, New Zealand and Sri Lanka played in the 1st Test, day 5 match of the Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand, 2023. 

     In the first Test match, New Zealand pulled off a major heist on Sri Lanka. On the final ball of the Test, with two wickets in hand and 255 needed to win in 52 overs, Kane Williamson hit a century while Daryl Mitchell produced an explosive 81-run innings to chase down the score. 

     Although Sri Lanka made some inroads with wickets, Williamson's tenacity allowed them to take the first game of the series. By doing so, NZ also prevented Sri Lanka from having a chance to advance to the WTC Final. Since Sri Lanka lost, India has finalised their agreement.

Brief Score 

     In the first inning, Sri Lanka have scored 355 for 10 in 92.4 overs (Oshada Fernando 13, Dimuth Karunaratne 50, Kusal Mendis 87, Angelo Mathews 47, Dinesh Chandimal 39, Dhananjaya de Silva 46, Niroshan Dickwella (wk) 7, Kasun Rajitha 22, Prabath Jayasuriya 13, Asitha Fernando 10, Lahiru Kumara 13, Extras 8)

     In the second inning, Sri Lanka have scored 302 for 10 in 105.3 overs (Oshada Fernando 28, Dimuth Karunaratne 17, Kusal Mendis 14, Angelo Mathews 115, Prabath Jayasuriya 6, Dinesh Chandimal 42, Dhananjaya de Silva 47, Niroshan Dickwella (wk) 0, Kasun Rajitha 14, Asitha Fernando 0, Lahiru Kumara 8, Extras 11)

     In the first inning, New Zealand have scored 373 for 10 in 107.3 overs (Tom Latham 67, Devon Conway 30, Kane Williamson 1, Henry Nicholls 2, Daryl Mitchell 102, Tom Blundell (wk) 7, Michael Bracewell 25, Southee 25, Matt Henry 72, Neil Wagner 27, Blair Tickner 2, Extras 13)

     In the second inning, New Zealand have scored 286 for 8 in 70 overs (Tom Latham 25, Devon Conway 5, Kane Williamson 121, Henry Nicholls 20, Daryl Mitchell 81, Tom Blundell (wk) 3, Michael Bracewell 10, Tim Southee 1, Matt Henry 4, Neil Wagner 0, Extras 16)

What is the Score?

     New Zealand won by 2 wickets.


The minimum comment length is 50 characters. comments are moderated
reload, if the code cannot be seen
There are no comments yet. You can be the first!